Whose insurance pays for a car accident in Utah?
Utah is considered a no-fault insurance state which means if a driver sustained injuries in an accident that wasn’t their fault, they generally would need to file a claim with their own insurance carrier to get their medical expenses paid for. Only under certain circumstances can a driver file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurer for the injuries they suffered in an accident. For more information on Utah’s insurance laws, read on below.
Filing an Insurance Claim After a Car Accident in Utah
Utah, like other states, requires that drivers carry certain limits of no-fault insurance coverage, and utilize it in the event of an accident. According to the Utah Division of Motor Vehicles, the following individuals must maintain no-fault insurance on their vehicles:
- The owner or operator of a vehicle who is a resident of the State of Utah.
- The owner or operator of a vehicle who “operates a motor vehicle that has been physically present in Utah for 90 days during the preceding 365 days.”
Drivers are also required to carry the following coverages1:
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)- Motorists must carry a minimum of $3,000 in PIP coverage. PIP coverage generally covers some or all of a driver’s medical expenses after a collision, regardless of fault.
- Liability Insurance– Drivers are also required to carry the following limits of liability insurance:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injuries
- $65,000 per accident for bodily injuries
- $15,000 per accident for property damage
When a driver engages in an accident with another motorist and they weren’t responsible for causing it, they would first file a PIP claim with their insurance carrier. If their injuries are severe (e.g. they suffered a permanent disability) and their medical expenses exceed the $3,000 minimum limit, they may then be able to file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance carrier.
What about property damage claims?
In terms of property damage claims, the State of Utah does not require drivers to file a claim with their carrier first. If another driver was liable for causing a collision, then the victim can file a property damage claim with the at-fault driver’s insurer.
In the event a car accident victim is unable to recover the compensation they are entitled to from the insurer for their injuries, pain and suffering, etc., they should discuss with a Utah accident attorney whether they have the grounds to file a personal injury lawsuit.
A Utah Accident Lawyer Can Help a Car Accident Victim Determine Who Their Claim Needs to be Filed With
Because Utah’s insurance laws can be rather confusing, accident victims are encouraged to consult with an accident lawyer in Utah who can help them understand who their claim needs to be filed with and how much they are entitled to recover in damages. If a driver is ready to discuss their incident with a qualified lawyer, they can contact USAttorneys.com for help.