How Many Points Before You Lose Your License in New York?
Like many states across the nation, New York uses a points system to track traffic offenses. Get a certain amount of points on your license, and you can say goodbye to your driving privileges. But how many points do you need to accumulate before you lose your license? And how does this points system work? Whether you’re in danger of losing your license or not, it makes sense to gain a full understanding of how New York’s point system works.
The most important thing to remember about the points system is that it can make trivial traffic offenses much worse. You might not be too concerned about paying a minor fine after committing an offense, but you also need to consider the points. If you already have a considerable number of points on your license, a simple speeding ticket could result in the suspension of your license. This is why it’s so important to work with a qualified, experienced criminal defense attorney in New York who specializes in traffic offenses. With their help, you can avoid losing your license.
If you accumulate eleven points, your license may be suspended. However, it’s worth pointing out that this only applies to the last 18 months. Points that you have earned more than 18 months in the past will not apply to your total. There is a wide range of possible offenses, and each traffic offense will result in a different amount of points being added to your license. These points range from 2-11, depending on the offense.
Is it Possible to Earn All Eleven Points for a Single Offense?
Yes, it is theoretically possible to earn eleven points for a single offense. There is only one offense that carries a penalty of eleven points, and that is driving 40 miles per hour over the posted limit. Your license will likely be suspended if you are caught committing this offense. Speeding carries the highest penalties in terms of points. Offenses such as reckless driving, failure to stop for a school bus, texting while driving, and railroad crossing violations carry a penalty of five points each.
You Must Be Convicted Before the Points are Added
It’s important to remember that even if you have received a traffic ticket, the points will not be added to your license until you have been convicted. This means that it’s very important to approach your hearing and appeals process in the most efficient way possible – ideally with the help of a qualified attorney. For example, you might have 8 points on your license before receiving another ticket for three points. But if you successfully appeal that last ticket, you can continue driving.
Enlist the Help of a Qualified Attorney Today
If you’ve been searching for a qualified, experienced criminal defense attorney in New York, look no further than Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law.
Darren DeUrso, Attorney at Law
188 East Post Road, Suite 300
White Plains, NY 10601
Phone: (914) 772-8614
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!